Home » spiritual observations » Rain, a reason for sadness, or joy?

Rain, a reason for sadness, or joy?

I walked out of my bedroom this morning and noticed that all the lights in the house were off.  Christian had lit the candles we keep in the fireplace and was playing some soft music through the television.  I looked out the window and saw the rain coming down and the grey skies.  Now you would think that someone who lived a great deal of his life in the Portland metropolitan area of Oregon would be used to seeing this kind of weather.  Sadly, it made me feel kind of depressed.  I guess I have just gotten spoiled the last couple years of my life and have enjoyed not seeing the rain.

photo 2

Then I got to thinking.  There has to be a reason why we have days like this.  As I often try to do in my life now, I tried to find a spiritual application to help me feel a little better.

Christian reminded me that Noah was stuck in an ark while it rained for 40 days and 40 nights.  I am sure that had to be difficult but Noah understood that God had a purpose for what was happening and God was going to help see him and his family through.   And here I am complaining about rain that at this point probably hadn’t lasted  more than 40 minutes and 40 seconds.

For any of you who might feel the same temptation to be discouraged by the rain, here are some verses that remind us why it is a gift from God and should bring us joy as it helps to sustain the land we live in.

Lev 26:4 “then I will give you rain in its season, the land shall yield its produce, and the trees of the field shall yield their fruit.”

photo 3

Is 55:10 “10 “For as the rain comes down, and the snow from heaven, And do not return there, But water the earth, And make it bring forth and bud, That it may give seed to the sower And bread to the eater”

Jer 14:22 “22 Are there any among the idols of the nations that can cause rain?  Or can the heavens give showers?  Are You not He, O Lord our God?  Therefore we will wait for You, Since You have made all these.”

photo 5

Amos 4:7 ““I also withheld rain from you, When there were still three months to the harvest.  I made it rain on one city, I withheld rain from another city.  One part was rained upon, And where it did not rain the part withered.”

Acts 14:17 “17 Nevertheless He did not leave Himself without witness, in that He did good, gave us rain from heaven and fruitful seasons, filling our hearts with food and gladness.”

Jam 5:17-18 “17 Elijah was a man with a nature like ours, and he prayed earnestly that it would not rain; and it did not rain on the land for three years and six months. 18 And he prayed again, and the heaven gave rain, and the earth produced its fruit.”

Let us always be thankful for the gift from God that is rain.

photo 1

One thought on “Rain, a reason for sadness, or joy?

  1. I personally like the rainy days. It might make feel sleepy at times but I like how it kind of forces me to take a vacation, to slow down and relax. You know that they say when painting a room blue is a calming color and yellow is an energetic color? Well when it’s sunny/yellow out all I get bouncy and just can’t wait to do a bunch of things outside, anything… absorb that solar energy. When it’s grey/blue out I just want to sit back and relax enjoy the soft sound of the rain and even the fresh sent it brings. I like how it also kind of forces everyone together (as we all huddle inside for shelter). Sometimes I even like it when the power goes out because it has us get back to basics making us be creative to entertain ourselves and to even interact with the rest of the household and not have the “social media” get in the way of spending time together. I enjoy that God sometimes gives us a natural way for a time out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

