Home » spiritual observations » 2 Things Common to Most Gospel Meetings

2 Things Common to Most Gospel Meetings

We are coming to the end of our Spring Gospel Meeting and I feel very blessed to have had the chance to spend some time with a family I haven’t seen in several years. As I often do, I spent my time observing some things over the past weekend that I think hold common to most meetings in general.

The first thing I noticed is thought of often and is considered somewhat humorous, but in truth, it tends to happen. The guest preacher and his family head home feeling like they have gained a few pounds from all the meals they have enjoyed while visiting fellow Christians. The good news is, there is no need to worry or feel bad if you helped feed them, after all, you are just following God’s Word in being hospitable.

On a more serious note, I recognized how true love of the brethren is stronger than time and distance. There is always someone in the audience who shows up who hasn’t seen the preacher and his family for years and when they start talking it’s like they haven’t been apart at all. I had a chance to experience this personally this afternoon when I got the chance to take the preacher and his family out to lunch. Sitting there talking with them reminded me of times past. The wonderful thing was, despite not talking in years, we were able to share with one another as if no time had passed at all. I guess this shouldn’t be a surprise if we are truly following God’s Word.

May the Lord continue to bless us with loving brothers and sisters in Him.

Leave a Reply

