Home » spiritual observations » One Thing You Can Count On To Never Be, “New and Improved”

One Thing You Can Count On To Never Be, “New and Improved”

This afternoon our family stopped by the store to pick up a couple items for the upcoming week. One of the things that never ceases to amaze me is all the products with sayings such as, “New and Improved” or “Now supplying more of what you need”. When I see this I can’t help but process in the back of mind, “Does that mean that I wasn’t getting what I deserved all these years. Have I been cheated or not getting what I am paying for” Then I begin to think, “Why stop at supply ‘more of what I need’, why not make sure I get all of what I need?” How long will I have to wait in order for items to do exactly what it is I need them to do?

Thankfully, I never have, and never will see this attached to the Word of God. There has never been a time where the creator of the Product (God) has said, “This is now new and improved and will give you more of what you need”. In fact He has promised just the opposite. God has promised that when it comes to His Word we have all we need.

If Scripture is “God-breathed,” then it is not man-breathed, and, although it was penned by men, those “men spoke from God as they were carried along by the Holy Spirit” (2 Peter 1:21)

No man-made writing is sufficient to equip us for every good work; only the Word of God can do that. Furthermore, if the Scriptures are sufficient to thoroughly equip us, then nothing more is needed.

Consider also the message of Jude 1:3.

Notice the phrase “once and for all.” This makes it clear that no other writings, no matter how godly the pastor, theologian, or denominational church they may come from, are to be seen as equal to or completing the Word of God. The Bible is all that is necessary for the believer to understand the character of God, the nature of man, and the doctrines of sin, heaven, hell, and salvation through Jesus Christ,

Lastly consider the words of David in Palm 19

May you ever trust in the Lord and His Word as it can never be improved upon since He has given us everything pertaining to life and Godliness.

Leave a Reply

