Home » spiritual observations » Not Sure if This Would Sound Right….

Not Sure if This Would Sound Right….

Most everyone who knows me knows I am a big fan of basketball. Most know that it was a big part of my life growing up and through school and it remains one of my favorite past times to both play and watch either on t.v. or live. I wonder what those that know me as well those who don’t, would think if I made comments such as the ones below, or acted like I believe these statements.

“Of course basketball is my favorite sport, just don’t expect me to talk about it with others.”

“I love getting to go to live basketball games, I just hate it when they go long (into overtime) and I have to keep watching.”

“Why would I want to go to a game again tonight, I just went to one earlier today?”

“I love basketball, just don’t make me spend more than a couple hours a week dealing with it.”

“I know this is a special opportunity to watch a game that doesn’t normally come around, I just don’t feel like it tonight.”

As I look at these statement I can’t help but believe it would cause others to doubt how important basketball really is to me.

Now let’s take it to a different arena. As Christians we proclaim to the world that God and Jesus are the most important things in our lives. If that is true, would this look or sound right?

“Yes my salvation and hope of a home in Heaven is the most important thing in my life, just don’t ask me to talk about it with others.”

“Why would I want to go to a Sunday evening study, I just went to a worship service this morning?”

“I know that this gospel meeting is a special opportunity to study and learn about what is most important in my life, I just don’t feel like going out tonight.”

May we all live lives that show our relationship with God and His Son are most important and there is nothing that would prevent us from spending more time studying and learning about our future home in Heaven.

Leave a Reply

