Home » spiritual observations » Lessons from a Yard Light

Lessons from a Yard Light

Nothing can dim the light

which shines from within

 ~Maya Angelou

As I look at this quote I can’t help but think of a very recent experience (For those of you in the West End congregation who heard this in the lesson, this won’t be the last time you find me repeat a thought I really like).  I have just moved into a new house and noticed there was a light out front that was on during the daytime.  Figuring it was not necessary to have light shining during the day I looked to shut the light off.  Sadly, no matter where I looked I couldn’t find a switch to turn the light off.  I searched inside, outside, and on the light itself with no luck.  I then went as far as to ask several people to try and help and they couldn’t shut out the light.  No matter how hard we tried, there was nothing we could do to prevent the light from shining.

This got my thinking about a Bible passage most all of us are familiar with teaching us to let our light shine…

Mt 5:16 “16 Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your Father in Heaven.”

We also sing a song about how we are going to let our light shine all the time and we won’t let Satan blow it out.  My question for us to consider is, “Are we going to be like that light I described above where no matter how hard someone tries to stop us from shining, they are not able?”  I believe this is what God intends for us to be and it is something we need to work hard at until we become a light that will always shine 24 hours a day, seven days a week, no matter what the day brings.

One final thing to remember…https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/fd/04/65/fd0465f654bf8ac03a4b5c767b5e9f73.jpg

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

