Home » spiritual observations » A Practical Reminder of the Truth of God’s Word

A Practical Reminder of the Truth of God’s Word

Every now and then I am reminded of just exactly what the Bible means in its teachings by an experience in my day.  Recently my youngest son has been walking around asking or saying he wants to, “Go to church”.  He is often disappointed when my wife or I explain to him that we are not going today or telling him when we will go.  Wouldn’t it be great if we all had the same attitude of wanting to, “Go to church” all the time.  I bring this up and ask you to consider Christ’s statement in Mt 18:3 as well as a well known Proverb.

 

Mt 18:3 “and said, “Assuredly, I say to you, unless you are converted and become as little children, you will by no means enter the kingdom of heaven.”

 

Prov 22:6 “Train up a child in the way he should go, And when he is old he will not depart from it.”

In looking at the passage in Mathew and seeing the excitement my child has in wanting to “Go to church”, I can better appreciate the concept of becoming as a child to enter the Kingdom of Heaven.  Then as I consider the truth in this text I am reminded of the importance of the Proverb reminding to properly train my child.  I can see already that it is being to come true as our training him to attend Bible class and worship services have caused him to want to do so.  This is the path we have tried to train him in and we can start feeling a confidence based on his actions now, he will not depart from this path when he is older.

May we all have opportunity to see and appreciate the truth of God’s Word in things we encounter each and every day and may we all remember to not just read it, but believe and understand it to be true.

Leave a Reply

