It Takes Courage

It takes strength to be firm,
It takes courage to be gentle.

It takes strength to conquer,
It takes courage to surrender.

It takes strength to be certain,
It takes courage to have doubt.

It takes strength to fit in,
It takes courage to stand out.

It takes strength to feel a friend’s pain,
It takes courage to feel your own pain.

It takes strength to endure abuse,
It takes courage to stop it.
It takes strength to stand alone,
It takes courage to lean on another.

It takes strength to love,
It takes courage to be loved.

It takes strength to survive,
It takes courage to live.
~Author Unknown

 

With God’s protection and guidance we should be able to conquer fears and live a life full of courage. It is God that commands us to have courage, for having courage means having faith and confidence in Him. Through scripture we can find the courage God desires us to have.

 

Deut 31:6-8 “Be strong and of good courage, do not fear nor be afraid of them; for the Lord your God, He is the One who goes with you. He will not leave you nor forsake you.”Then Moses called Joshua and said to him in the sight of all Israel, “Be strong and of good courage, for you must go with this people to the land which the Lord has sworn to their fathers to give them, and you shall cause them to inherit it. And the Lord, He is the One who goes before you. He will be with you, He will not leave you nor forsake you; do not fear nor be dismayed.”

 

1 chron 16:11 “11 Seek the Lord and His strength; Seek His face evermore!”

Ps 27:1 “27 The Lord is my light and my salvation; Whom shall I fear? The Lord is the strength of my life; Of whom shall I be afraid?”

Ps 56:3-4 “Whenever I am afraid, I will trust in You. In God (I will praise His word), In God I have put my trust; I will not fear. What can flesh do to me?”

Prov 28:1 “28 The wicked flee when no one pursues, But the righteous are bold as a lion.”

Is 12:2 “Behold, God is my salvation, I will trust and not be afraid; ‘For Yah, the Lord, is my strength and song; He also has become my salvation.’”

Is 41:10-13 “10 Fear not, for I am with you; Be not dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, Yes, I will help you, I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.’ 11 “Behold, all those who were incensed against you Shall be ashamed and disgraced;
They shall be as nothing, And those who strive with you shall perish. 12 You shall seek them and not find them—Those who contended with you. Those who war against you
Shall be as nothing, As a nonexistent thing. 13 For I, the Lord your God, will hold your right hand, Saying to you, ‘Fear not, I will help you.’”

1 Cor 16:13 “13 Watch, stand fast in the faith, be brave, be strong.”

Eph 6:10 “10 Finally, my brethren, be strong in the Lord and in the power of His might.”

May we all look to God for the courage to carry us on through the good times and bad.


 

Leave a Reply

