Home » Read in a year » Problems With the Modern World

Problems With the Modern World

 “The modern world has scrambled things

so badly that today we worship our work,

we work at our play, and we play at our worship.”

~Os Guiness

 

As you consider the above statement, it should give you pause to ask yourself, “How could one worship their work?”  The answer to this is to consider those who spend so much time and energy on their work that they have nothing left to give God their Father or their family.  Anything that becomes more important to us than God becomes our idol.  People who solely devote themselves to their work at the cost of all else have allowed their work to become their idol.  There are countless scriptures that warn against idolatry.

 

Ex 20:3-6 ““You shall have no other gods before Me. “You shall not make for yourself a carved image—any likeness of anything that is in heaven above, or that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth; you shall not bow down to them nor serve them. For I, the Lord your God, am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers upon the children to the third and fourth generations of those who hate Me, but showing mercy to thousands, to those who love Me and keep My commandments.”

 

Jonah 2:8 ““Those who regard worthless idols Forsake their own Mercy.”

Ps 135:15-18 “15 The idols of the nations are silver and gold, The work of men’s hands. 16 They have mouths, but they do not speak; Eyes they have, but they do not see;17 They have ears, but they do not hear; Nor is there any breath in their mouths. 18 Those who make them are like them; So is everyone who trusts in them.”

1 Cor 10:14 “14 Therefore, my beloved, flee from idolatry.”

Col 3:5 “Therefore put to death your members which are on the earth: fornication, uncleanness, passion, evil desire, and covetousness, which is idolatry.”

1 Jn 5:21 “21 Little children, keep yourselves from idols. Amen.

In regards to “Working at our play”, have you ever met people who invest all their time and energy into playing games?  Have you seen those people today who are unwilling to work and make money because they are too busy sitting at home in front of their video games.  Even worse, these same people who refuse to work and devote all their time to “Playing” spend money they don’t have on more games to play.

Consider Solomon and how hard he, “Worked at play” and how much good he felt it did him.

Eccl 2:1-11 “I said in my heart, “Come now, I will test you with mirth; therefore enjoy pleasure”; but surely, this also was vanity. I said of laughter—“Madness!”; and of mirth, “What does it accomplish?” I searched in my heart how to gratify my flesh with wine, while guiding my heart with wisdom, and how to lay hold on folly, till I might see what was good for the sons of men to do under heaven all the days of their lives. I made my works great, I built myself houses, and planted myself vineyards. I made myself gardens and orchards, and I planted all kinds of fruit trees in them. I made myself water pools from which to water the growing trees of the grove. I acquired male and female servants, and had servants born in my house. Yes, I had greater possessions of herds and flocks than all who were in Jerusalem before me. I also gathered for myself silver and gold and the special treasures of kings and of the provinces. I acquired male and female singers, the delights of the sons of men, and musical instruments[a] of all kinds. So I became great and excelled more than all who were before me in Jerusalem. Also my wisdom remained with me. 10 Whatever my eyes desired I did not keep from them. I did not withhold my heart from any pleasure, For my heart rejoiced in all my labor; And this was my reward from all my labor. 11 Then I looked on all the works that my hands had done And on the labor in which I had toiled; And indeed all was vanity and grasping for the wind. There was no profit under the sun.

Solomon clearly worked hard at “playing” by gathering all sorts of things to enjoy or play with all the days of his life holding back nothing but it brought him no profit.

In regards to “Playing at worship,” one writer offered the following.  “Churches of Christ aim never to “play at worship.” Worship is the most important thing humans do. It is a privilege to worship—more specifically, to be one from whom God accepts worship. In the Old Testament, believers offered sacrifices through priests. In the New, all Christians are priests—a kingdom of priests (Revelation 1:6). As a holy priesthood we offer spiritual sacrifices to Him who called us out of darkness (1 Peter 2:5, 9).

The bible is full of information concerning the seriousness of worship and that it is not a game.

1 Sam 15:22 “22 So Samuel said:“Has the Lord as great delight in burnt offerings and sacrifices, As in obeying the voice of the Lord? Behold, to obey is better than sacrifice, And to heed than the fat of rams.”

Is 29:13 “13 Therefore the Lord said: “Inasmuch as these people draw near with their mouths And honor Me with their lips, But have removed their hearts far from Me, And their fear toward Me is taught by the commandment of men,”

Lk 4:8 “And Jesus answered and said to him, “Get behind Me, Satan![a] For[b] it is written, ‘You shall worship the Lord your God, and Him only you shall serve.’ ”

Jn 4:23-24 “23 But the hour is coming, and now is, when the true worshipers will worship the Father in spirit and truth; for the Father is seeking such to worship Him. 24 God is Spirit, and those who worship Him must worship in spirit and truth.”

 

Heb 12:28-29 “28 Therefore, since we are receiving a kingdom which cannot be shaken, let us have grace, by which we may[a] serve God acceptably with reverence and godly fear. 29 For our God is a consuming fire.”

 

May we all pray to God to help us keep our priorities in order and never forget to seek Him first.

Leave a Reply

